Skip to content

FRIENDSHIP

September 24, 2009

No really though–sometimes friends can really make your day.

Today, right before going on a run, I checked my mailbox–I’d been expecting a package for a little while now. Naturally, I was excited to see that it had arrived. It was a book from my friend Kate. A little while ago she told me she’d send it to me when she’d finished reading it. I’m not the type of person to do that kind of thing (email greater than or equal to snail mail) but I am the kind of person to appreciate that kind of gesture. She didn’t disclose the name of the book: it was supposed to be a surprise. When I finally opened the packaging (that is, after my run (that is, after I’d worked up a sweat (that is, the regular smiley face / Misfits skull on the front of my shirt))) I saw that it was HOME: Social Essays by LeRoi Jones (Amiri Baraka). This resulted in more excitement. Later, over gchat, I told Kate how excited I was even though I hadn’t even opened the book yet. And then the final excitement which, yes, made my day: I opened the cover of the book. In it was a short, brilliantly enjambed note. It is the only decoration above my ‘writing desk’ at Fort Juniper. In all likelihood it will remain as such.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

