Skip to content

LOVE/ALWAYS

September 25, 2009

This post is going to be about Mariah Carey and Love as well as the following permutations: a love for Mariah Carey and Mariah Carey on love. And it will be about a few other things too, I guess, because that’s how this blogger gets down.

Let me start of by saying that I was compelled to write this post. The source of this compulsion: I was walking down North Pleasant St. in Amherst (right off of the street named Main Street), on my way to this cafe I frequent (free wifi FTW), when I noticed that someone was blasting the shit out of

Before I proceed I think it’s necessary to provide some context for this story. I had a moment with “Always Be My Baby” earlier this summer. I was doing some kind of mindless driving–delivering pizza, driving back and forth between the pizza stores where I worked–when this song came on either Hot97 or Power105. I was in one of those moods in which we humans are extremely vulnerable to pining pop music. You could say I had been since last October. So when I heard the chorus

You’ll always be a part of me
I’m a part of you indefinitely
Boy don’t you know you can’t escape me
Ooh darling cause you’ll always be my baby

I was overcome with a predictable cocktail of emotions. I also thought “damn, Mariah, you are so right.” But like I said before–wisdom, ostensible wisdom–anything goes! (For the anglophiles out there: I vaguely recall Hemingway writing something similar to that. Also he said something like “once he realized that there was no truth to tell he found that he was more successful with women.”). In sum, I had a moment of “insight” regarding some ex ish as well as opening myself up to a 90’s classic–my bond with the song was cemented.

So, when I heard the song, I was pleasantly surprised (the nostalgia from the last encounter has since lost its bite). I realized that it was coming from a van that was waiting at the light. The front windows were down. A grizzly dude was driving and a woman (romantic interest??? omg the intrigue) was in the passenger seat. As I hinted at before, THEY WERE GETTING DOWN: blasting the song, clapping loudly, swaying side to side, smiling. I wanted to respond to them in some way, but I couldn’t make up my mind. Should I send them a gesture of approval? If so, which gesture? Thumbs up was the only one I could think of and that was out of the question. I finally decided on recording them, but, of course, they started to drive off as soon as I started recording. I didn’t capture the moment then. Likewise I’m not sure if I caught it just now. No matter, though, it was beautiful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

