Skip to content

AUTHORITATIVE

October 24, 2009

So I’ve been thinking about making a best-music-of list for ’09. I wasn’t sure how I’d go about it, and, more importantly, I couldn’t remember the appropriate time of year (still, though, when is that?) for such lists. I was also thinking about how to acknowledge the various manifestations of douchebaggery of list-making. What compelled me to write this, however, was finally getting around to Sasha Frere-Jones stupid article: it’s the kind of article that makes you want to scream, and, if you can control your rage enough, it’s the kind that makes you want to write a thorough and detailed rebuttal that would prevent the author from writing any such drivel ever again. Or, if neither of those things, because why take an asshole seriously, maybe you’d just rhyme at him. Well, my boys Das Racist kinda did those things already. And yet I still wanted to say something, or do something. Not sure why, but it probably has something to do with how much I like to hear/read myself talk/type. How could I satisfy this desire? A 2009 best-of rap list that is an implicit criticism of Sasha Frere-Jones histrionic musicology:

Saeid Edward to Sacha Frere-Jones: Stop Trying to Talk about Rap!

Big Boi  feat. Gucci Mane “Shine Blockas”

Cam’ron “Where I Know You From”

Das Racist feat. Gordon Voidwell  “Shorty Said (Gordon Voidwell remix)”

Devin the Dude feat. Brandy “Gimme Some”

DOOM “That’s That”

Ghostface Killah feat. Raheem DeVaughn “Do Over”

Gucci Mane feat. OJ Da Juiceman “Wasted (remix)”

Joell Ortiz “Call Me”

Kanye West feat. Mr. Hudson “Paranoid”

Lil Boosie “Mind of a Maniac”

Lil Wayne “Swag Surfin”

Sean Price “Megasean”

Yes, the songs are in alphabetic order by artist…cuz it’s just whatever I could find in my iTunes.

SUCK MY CUP

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

